Close Button

History of Ottoman Coins. Vol. 1.

Item Reference: BKS1220

History of Ottoman Coins. Vol. 1.

Spend £100 to get free shipping in the UK

Damali, A. History of Ottoman Coins. Vol. 1. Ottoman Coins from Osman I to Suleyman I.  Istanbul, 2010. 439 pages, colour illustrations throughout. Casebound, jacket. The present volume of this work, which is expected to be completed in nine volumes, covers the reigns of sultans Mustafa I, Osman II, Murad IV, Ibrahim and Mehmed IV, and contains: Year-by-year chronological information regarding the 67 years of these sultanates; The most significant historical developments of this period; Detailed information on coins. This volume includes the details of 28 coins of Sultan Suleyman II, 18 coins of Sultan Ahmed II, 104 coins of Sultan Mustafa II, 346 coins of Sultan Ahmed III and 335 coins of Sultan Mahmud I; i.e. 831 gold and silver coins. Additionally, the book provides the local history of nearly 50 provinces which issued coins during these reigns and examines the characteristics of the coins minted in these provinces. An inventory of the coins belonging to the sultans is provided at the end of the book.