Close Button

The Baldwin's Team

 

Our experience has shown us that the very best collections in the world are achieved through a trusted relationship between collector and advisor. Whatever aspect of the numismatic world interests you. we have skilled numismatists who are always pleased to help.

No matter if you're an experienced lifelong collector or looking to start out in the world of numismatics, our team of world-class specialists are available to aid you in any way they can.

 

Our Specialist Advisors

 

Edward Baldwin
Consultant

Edward Baldwin is the longest standing member of the Baldwin's team, having joined the family business in 1970 after graduating from Edinburgh University where he studied modern languages, ancient history and archaeology.

Edward has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the world of numismatics, and is a member of the Royal Numismatic Society, the British Numismatic Society and the Russian Numismatic Society.

Email: edward@baldwin.co.uk

 

Neil Paisley
Managing Director

Neil has been involved in the numismatic world for over 20 years. After studying History, Latin and Classical Civilisation in Manchester, he joined Colin Cooke Coins, where he took over the business in 2005. Neil specialises in British hammered and milled coins, and over the years has been responsible for the cataloguing and auctioning of many important sales - most notably the Alderley Collection of pennies (an auction that held the World Record for a 1933 Lavrillier penny for ten years until it was broken by Baldwin's in May 2016). Neil joined Baldwin's as Managing Director in 2016, bringing decades of experience and knowledge.

Email: neil@baldwin.co.uk

You can read more about Neil, including a Q & A right here.

 

Seth Freeman
Director

Seth joined Baldwin's in 1996 after graduating from Southampton University with a degree in history. As Director, Seth runs our prestigious auctions department and has been instrumental in building alliances with international partners in London, New York, Singapore and Dubai.

He is the current treasurer for the BNTA (British Numismatic Trade Association) council through which he campaigns to bring greater awareness of the British numismatic industry.

Seth's specialist numismatic knowledge is in banknotes and British trade tokens.

Email: seth@baldwin.co.uk

 

Mark Smith
Medallist

Mark holds a Master's Degree in Curation from UCL, and is a curator of the Royal Artillery Museum in Woolwich. Mark is also an associate member of the Guild of Battlefield Guides and has been collecting and cataloguing medals for more than 47 years.

A familiar face to many in the UK, Mark is also the Resident Arms and Armouries specialist on the BBC's Antique Roadshow and is widely regarded as the foremost medals and orders specialist in the country. He specialises in Military Medals from all eras.

Email: mark@baldwin.co.uk

 

Chris Tyrimos
Numismatist

Chris graduated from Queen Mary University of London with a degree in History in 2003, which led to him becoming interested in numismatics in 2005. Chris joined Baldwin's in 2015 as a junior numismatist and maintains a strong interest in history and coins. He has since broadened his knowledge base to include British coinage from 1558 onwards as well as British hammered coins.

Email: chris@baldwin.co.uk

 

 
Abigail Delgado
Numismatic Assistant

Abigail holds a psychology degree from Westminster University. She previously worked for two years at The British Museum, where she discovered a fond interest in historical artifacts and world history. Abigail stepped seamlessly into the world of numismatics at Baldwin's in 2016.

Email: abigail@baldwin.co.uk

 

Simon Noble
Numismatist

Simon joined the Baldwin's team in 2016 having previously worked for numismatic trading and auction houses in Sydney, Australia. Simon has a broad knowledge of numismatics and knowledge of the international trade and is available for advice on valuations and sales.

Email: simon@baldwin.co.uk

 

Jeremy Cheek - Consultant Specialist

Email: jeremy@baldwin.co.uk

 

Daniel Fearon - Specialist (Commemorative Medals)

Email: daniel@baldwin.co.uk

 

Randy Weir - Consultant Specialist

Email: RandyWeir@baldwin.co.uk

 

Peter Brooks - Consultant Specialist

Email: PeterBrooks@baldwin.co.uk

 

Gary Groll - Specialist (Tokens)

Email: gary@baldwin.co.uk

 

Andre de Clermont - Specialist (Islamic Coins)

Email: andre@baldwin.co.uk

 

Peter Donald - Specialist (Byzantine Coins)

Email: peter@baldwin.co.uk

 

Auction Department

 

Jennifer Mulholland
Auction Manager

Jennifer holds a Masters degree in Historical Research from Lancaster University, where she specialised in Seventeenth Century intellectual history and the antiquarian and collector Elias Asmole. She joined Baldwin's as Auction Manager in 2016 having previously worked in numismatic publishing.

Email: jennifer@baldwin.co.uk

 

Lewis Taylor

Senior Auction Administrator

Lewis has a background in finance and a longstanding passion for antiques and collectables. He joined baldwin's in 2016 as the Senior Auction Administrator having previously worked at an auction house in Essex.

Email: lewis@baldwin.co.uk

 

 

 

The New York Sale 2017


CATALOGUES AVAILABLE NOW

Auctions XXXI, XL & XLI

10-12 January 2017

 

Fixed Price Lists


NEW!!

Fixed Price List - Summer 2016

"One of the most important numismatic events of the summer..."

OUT NOW!